Experiments with a half frame camera

I inherited a half-frame camera from my dad and since seeing Luke Fowler’s ‘Two-Frame Film’ project I’ve wanted to have a play with one.

Luke Fowler, 'Two-Frame Films"

Luke Fowler, ‘Two-Frame Films”

These are my first images – taken on a walk round my dad’s place in Spain. I had no pre-conceived plan and I like the accidental coincidences.

half-Frame_3

half_frame_1

half_frame_2

However, I’m not really satisfied with relying on coincidences, I want to use the camera’s own framing devices as a kind of creative “obstruction”. It seems natural to use the pairings creatively – one aspect of the camera that interests me is the way that you need to try and remember the previous image when planning the current, and the next and so on – so there is a temporal element to taking. The images become part of the strip – like a cinematic film, recording an unfolding event. The process reminds me of watching Hollis Frampton’s ‘Nostalgia’ – where you have to try to remember the past and engage with the present at the same time.

https://youtu.be/foJzsVYK83w

The other option is to forget the strip – and focus on the relationship between the pairings only – this way I could experiment with more formal qualities – fragments, cuts, juxtapositions of forms, abstraction. I’ve shot a set at Yorkshire Sculpture Park (yet to be processed) with these ideas in mind.

Tagged , ,
